Orange County School Nurses Organization (OCSNO)




Pamela Kahn​, RN, MPH
County Nurse

Administrative Assistant


Mission Statement

The mission of the Orange County School Nurses Organization shall be to provide a means by which Orange County and surrounding area school nurses may unite in thoughts and actions to foster the maximum health and educational potential of children and youth, to improve school health programs, and to advance the professional and educational status of school nurses.


Membership Information

The membership of this organization shall consist of active, retired, associates, and student members. 

Active members shall be registered nurses holding a valid credential to practice as school nurses in California. Active members must be employed by public school boards of education. School nurses on leave of absence or engaged in full time teaching, administration, or study shall retain their rights to active membership. School nurses eligible for active membership shall be ineligible for any other type of membership.

Retired members shall be school nurses who have held active membership but who are now retired. Retired members shall have all the rights and privileges, except they may not hold elective office. Retired members may be appointed to standing committees.

Associate members shall be registered nurses with interest in school nursing who are not employed by public boards of education. Associate members shall have all the rights and privileges, but may not vote or hold elective or appointed office.

Student members shall be student nurses or registered nurses who are currently enrolled in a baccalaureate nursing program. Credentialed school nurses are ineligible to have student membership status. Student members shall have all the rights and privileges, but may not vote or hold elective or appointed office.

Dues for members of the organization, as well as workshop fees, shall be determined by the executive board and approved annually for each upcoming school year. Membership dues shall be paid on an annual basis. The organization's fiscal year shall begin on July 1st and end on June 30th.

The benefits of membership include workshops with continuing education contact hours. The organization must meet the requirements of the California Board of Registered Nursing and the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing and shall motive institutions of higher learning to provide school nurse curricula. Avenues for professional growth of members will be pursued. The membership will be alerted to any necessary business which may arise in the area of professional ethics and practice, and shall compile information on local school nursing practices and policies.

For more information regarding membership click on link to apply.


​2018 OCSNO Nurse Award Winners
Congratulations to these outstanding nurses!

Natalie Gerdes, Newport-Mesa Unified School District, School Nurse of the Year

Michelle Ollada Alipio, Tustin Unified School District, School Readiness Nurse of the Year

Kathy Tedone, Buena Park  School District, School Nurse Administrator of the Year
2016 Halo Award Winners

Dr. Gregory S. Plutko, Superintendent
Huntington Beach Union High School District
School Administrator Halo Award

Linda Scott, Coordinator
Immunization Assistance Program
Orange County Health Care Agency
Community Partner Halo Award


Summer/Fall Newsletter 2017

Winter Newsletter 2017

Spring Newsletter 2018

Fall Newsletter 2018

OCSNO Fall Conference 2018 Presentations

Athletes at Risk for Sudden Cardiac Death -    Anjan S. Batra, MD; UCI Pediatric Cardio Pulmonary Center

A Pediatrician Talks About Youth Mental Health Marc Lerner, MD; Center for Autism & Neurodevelopmental Disorders of Southern California




Scholarship Information

The Orange County School Nurses Organization is pleased to announce a NEW scholarship opportunity 

OCSNO has previously offered the Sally Williams Scholarship for those Credentialed School Nurses who are working towards a Nurse Practitioner Certification or an Advanced Degree in health or education related fields. 

In addition to the Sally Williams Scholarship, OCSNO is now offering the OCSNO Credential Scholarship. This is meant to benefit those nurses who are OCSNO members and are working on the ir School Nurse/Health Services Credential.  

Both scholarships consist of a cash award of $500 to be used towards educational expenses. Scholarship recipients will be honored at the  OCSNO Fall Conference.  Please link to the application forms below for details regarding scholarship eligibility and information on how to apply.

​For more details click on 2018 Application for OCSNO Credential Scholarship.pdf and ​2018 Application for Sally Williams Scholarship.pdf


OCSNO Fall Conference Registration--click here.


​OCSNO Awards
School Nursing Awards

Each year the OCSNO honors some of it's best! Awards are given to the peer nominated:

School Nurse of the Year,
School Readiness Nurse of the Year, and
School Nurse Administrator of the Year.
OCSNO Halo Awards

OCSNO also bestows two "Halo" awards at an OCSNO Spring Conference each year:

The community Halo Award, which recognizes those in the community who have provided outstanding support for School Nurses and school children.

The School Administrator Halo Award, which is given to an educational administrator who has been an advocate for School Health Services in their district.



​2018-19 OCSNO Board Positions 

Elected Positions


Chairperson:  Riva Nist Apodaca, GGUSD

Vice- Chair Program :  Michelle De Haven, PYLUSD

Vice-Chair Hospitality: JoAnne Von Kostka, HBUHSD                 

Parliamentarian/By-Laws: Pam Atkins, TUSD

Treasurer:  Marci McLean, HBUSD

Secretary Recording: Erin Lawrence, Los Alamitos USD

Corresponding Secretary: Merry Grasska, NMUSD   

Nominations Chairperson: Susan Biegel, OVSD    

Board Member At Large:  Michelle Mercado, GGUSD

Board Member At Large: Andrea Foster,  SAUSD

Board Member At Large: Heidi Tucker, OVSD

Appointed Positions

Membership: Marci McLean-Crawford, HBUHSD

Conference Committee: Marci McLean-Crawford, HBUHSD

Education: Pam Kahn, OCDE

Special Education: Cathy White, TUSD

Public Relations/Vendors: Natalie De Porto, BOUSD and Michelle De Haven, PYLUSD

Awards: Michelle Ollada Alipio, TUSD

Legislation: Bobbie Cox, WSD

Mentorship: Erin Lawrence, LAUSD

Social Media:  Jean Chung, GGUSD

Newsletter: Karen Nelson, OCDE

OCDE Liaison: Pamela Kahn, OCDE

Private School Liaison: Open Position

School Readiness Liaison: Cathi Hacker, WSD

CSNO Liaison: Marci McLean-Crawford, HBUHSD